On October 13, 2020, Google Drive will make a change to Trash so that it behaves more consistently with the rest of the G Suite services with regards to automatic deletion. This means that any file that is put into Google Drive’s My Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days. Items in the trash will continue to consume quota.
Starting October 13, 2020, any files already in a user’s trash will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day-period files that have been in the trash for longer than 30 days will be automatically deleted.
What does this mean for UNCG?
Any file that has been in the trash for longer than 30 days after October 13, 2020, will be automatically deleted. Google will be showing in-app messaging in Drive starting September 15, 2020, and in editors products (such as Google Docs and Google Forms) starting September 29, 2020.
A few things to note:
- Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days.
- These changes affect items that are trashed from any device and any platform.
- Files deleted from Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash after 30 days. There is no impact on Backup and Sync behavior.
- G Suite administrators can still restore items from any emptied trash on behalf of their users for up to 25 days.
- Retention policies set by G Suite administrators in Google Vault are not affected by this change. Deleted messages may still be recovered for retention purposes.
What do I need to do?
Update Google Drive on Android or iOS to the latest versions.
We’re here to help
For any specific questions about these changes, please refer to the following support articles: