Beginning October 13, 2020, Google Drive’s Trash will behave more consistently with other G Suite services with regard to automatic deletion. Any file put into My Drive trash will be automatically deleted after 30 days.
What does this mean for UNCG users?
Any files already in a user’s trash as of October 13 will remain there for 30 days. After the 30-day period, files will be automatically deleted.
Google will show in-app messaging in Drive starting September 15, 2020, and in Editors products such as Google Docs and Google Forms starting September 29, 2020.
A few things to note:
Files in shared drives trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days.
- Files in shared drive trash are already automatically deleted after 30 days.
- The new changes affect items that are trashed from any device and on any platform.
- Files deleted from Drive File Stream will be purged from the system trash after 30 days. Backup and Sync are not impacted by these changes.
- G Suite administrators can still restore items from any emptied trash on behalf of their users for up to 25 days.
- Retention policies set by G Suite administrators in Google Vault are not affected. Deleted messages may still be recovered for retention purposes.
What do I need to do?
Update Google Drive on Android or iOS to the latest versions.
Where can I get more information?
The following articles provide more information on G Suite tools:
- Delete and restore files
- G Suite Learning Center: view and update files in Drive
- Restore deleted shared drives or their files
- Restore a G Suite user’s Gmail and Drive data
As always, for technical assistance, please submit a 6-TECH ticket, call 6-TECH at (336) 256-TECH (8324), or email 6-TECH@uncg.edu.