When sharing personal information on the internet, you should always proceed carefully. A good practice is to ask yourself this question before posting: “Am I comfortable sharing this information with the whole world? Forever?”
- Information shared online can never be completely removed from the internet. The internet is a global collection of websites, host servers, storage locations and other web resources. Once posted and shared, your information may be copied to multiple locations, either automatically (as the information is transferred from one location to another) or by the action of individuals sharing the information to others (e.g. retweets).
- The information shared today can be accessed later in your life. More and more frequently, employers are checking online profiles of job applicants. Information or affiliations you feel comfortable sharing at one point in your life may not remain the same at later points in your life.